SHOWCASE 1. JEWELLERY PIECES FROM THE 11TH-14TH CENTURIES

Close

Showcase 1. Jewellery pieces from the 11th-14th centuriesOne of the most remarkable sections of the exposition includes ancient pieces of jewellery art dating back to the earliest period of Moscow history. Around two hundred exhibits, the vast majority of which are Old Russian jewellery, displayed in the first two showcases, comprise the rarest group of objects found as part of the hoards during archaeological excavations in the Kremlin territory.

In winter 1238, like many other Russian towns, Moscow was besieged and ravaged by the hordes of Batu Khan—the grandson of Genghis Khan. Two buried treasures of silver jewellery from the 12th - early 13th century, discovered by archaeologists in 1988 and 1991, had been hidden in the ground in those days, during the three-day defence. 

The basis of these treasure-troves are decorations for head, hands and ceremonial costumes, looking at which it is difficult to believe that in pre-Mongolian times people knew and used such sophisticated techniques, which are still not accessible to every craftsman because of their laboriousness and complexity. In addition to jewellery, the 1988 complex included three silver ingots, a ceremonial dagger handle made of walrus bone and a dipper made of clam shell. The buried treasure consisted of three hundred objects, while the showcase contains exhibits that have survived in their entirety or have suffered minor losses. It is one of the biggest hoards of the Russian Middle Ages discovered by archaeologists on the territory of Old Russian towns and that is why it was called the "Great Kremlin Hoard". The second treasure, found three years later in the same area, consisted of twenty three objects and was similar in composition to the first one.

The first showcase presents a headdress decoration (agrafe) – openwork granular beads, which were stringed on a filigree wire (mounted on a metal plaque by restorers in order to guide the viewer’s eye); hexactinal headdress pendants (kolt) decorated with thousands small granules fixed on special ringlets by ancients jewellers; and twisted and braded torques.Scandinavian pendants in the form of a stylised bearded head are the most eastern finds of such kind in the European territory. There are also a variety of Old Russian necklaces and double-wing bracelets consisting of two wide plates.

Headdress decoration (agrafe)Headdress pendant (kolt)BeadBracelet

Silver-gilt medallions comprising barmy (regalia collar) that sovereigns wore on particularly solemn occasions are worth highlighting. Two of them depict the full-length Archangels, and the other four depict the bloomed crosses. One of the rare finds among the pre-Mongolian hoards is ryasny – noisy pendants to a woman's headdress. Many pieces were gilded by the ancient goldsmiths – mostly the medallions, numerous necklaces and sewn-on plaques of various shapes.

MedallionMedallionRyasny (pendant for woman’s headdress)

The showcase contains another little in amount hoard, found during restoration works in the Patriarch's Palace area in the mid-1960s and consisting of two Byzantine stone crosses made of blue Badakhshan lazurite and greyish-pink marble. The both crosses have gold plating on the edges. Similar crosses were made in the Byzantine Empire, whence they came by trade routes to different countries and Russia as well.

Pectoral CrossPectoral Cross

The works of Russian pre-Mongolian, Byzantine and Scandinavian art on display give an idea of the main historical origins that formed the basis of the Moscow culture.

Вид 1Вид 2Вид 3Вид 4Вид 5

ВИТРИНА 1. ПРЕДМЕТЫ ЮВЕЛИРНОГО ИСКУССТВА XII–XIII ВВ.

Close

Витрина 1. «Предметы ювелирного искусства XI-XIV вв.»Один из наиболее ценных разделов экспозиции включает древние памятники ювелирного искусства, связанные с первыми веками московской истории. Около двухсот экспонатов, в подавляющем большинстве — древнерусских украшений, размещенных в первых двух витринах, составляют редчайшую группу предметов, найденных в составе кладов  в ходе археологических раскопок  на территории Кремля.

Зимой 1238 г. Москва, как и многие другие русские города была разграблена и сожжена полчищами Батыя. Именно тогда, во время трехдневной обороны Москвы, и были зарыты два клада с серебряными ювелирными изделиями XII – началаа XIII в., обнаруженные археологами в 1988 и 1991 гг.   

Основу этих кладов составляют украшения головы, рук и парадного костюма, взглянув на которые трудно поверить, что в домонгольское время знали и использовали столь сложные техники, освоение которых и сегодня доступно не каждому мастеру из-за их трудоемкости и сложности. В состав комплекса 1988 г., помимо украшений, входили три серебряных денежных слитка, рукоять парадного кинжала из моржовой кости и ковшик из раковины моллюска. Этот клад состоял из трехсот предметов — в витрине он представлен экспонатами, сохранившимися целиком или имеющими незначительные утраты. Он является одним из самых крупных денежно-вещевых кладовых комплексов русского Средневековья, обнаруженных археологами на территории древнерусских городов, и поэтому был назван «Большим кремлевским кладом». Второй клад, найденный спустя три года в том же районе древней московской крепости, состоял из двадцати трех предметов и был близок по составу к первому.  

В первой  витрине показаны аграфы —  ажурные зернёные бусины, закрепленные по три на сканой проволоке и посаженные реставраторами для наглядности на металлическую пластину; шестилучевые зернёные колты, имеющие по несколько тысяч серебряных зернинок-шариков, закрепленных древними мастерами-ювелирами в специальных колечках витые и плетеные гривны-обручи. Скандинавские подвески в виде стилизованной головы бородатого человека —  самая восточная находка таких изделий на территории Европы. Здесь же разнообразные древнерусские бусы, широкопластинчатые разъемные двухстворчатые браслеты-наручи.

АграфыКолтБусинаБраслет-наруч

Стоит выделить серебряные золоченые медальоны барм, которые одевали князья в особо торжественных случаях. На двух из них изображены архангелы в полный рост, на четырех — процветшие кресты. Редкой находкой в древнерусских кладах домонгольского времени являются рясны —   шумящие подвески к женскому головному убору. Многие предметы были позолочены древними мастерами-ювелирами, прежде всего это относится к медальонам, многочисленным бусам и нашивным бляшкам разнообразных форм. 

МедальонМедальонРясны

В витрине помещён ещё один небольшой клад, найденный при реставрационных строительных работах в районе Патриаршего дворца в середине 1960-х гг. и состоящий из двух византийских каменных крестиков из синего бадахшанского лазурита из серовато-розового мрамора. Оба крестика имеют золотые оковки на концах лучей. Подобные кресты изготавливали в Византии, откуда они попадали торговыми путями в разные страны, в том числе и на Русь.

Крест-тельникКрест-тельник

Представленные произведения русского домонгольского, византийского и скандинавского  искусства дают представление о тех основных исторических истоках, которые легли в основу московской культуры.

 


top