EXPOSITION 'TREASURES AND ANTIQUITIES OF THE MOSCOW KREMLIN'

Close

The expositionThe exposition 'Treasures and antiquities of the Moscow Kremlin', arranged on the ground floor of the Annunciation Cathedral, comprises monuments and artefacts, found during the archeological excavations and scientific researches in the Moscow Kremlin territory, as well as those related to the history of the development of the Russian Tsars' treasure houses, or derived from the collections and treasures of the Russian noble people, high ranking officials and ancient monasteries. The exhibition is of high historical and artistic value through the quantity of the presented masterpieces of the XIIth—XVIIth centuries. At that time Moscow developed into a stable and prosperous principality, known as Grand Duchy of Moscow, which later on has become the center of the whole Russian state. The new museum is being opened on the basement floor of the Annunciation Cathedral, where the Great Princes' and Tsars' treasury had been kept many centuries ago.

Over 1500 items of the XIIth—XVIIth centuries, displayed within the exposition, served as valuable material possessions in the past. The collection includes masterpieces of decorative and applied arts, pieces of jewellery, arms and armour, silver and gold bullions and coins.

The display is divided into several sections which incorporate artworks of various types of decorative and applied arts. The section, worthy of particular attention, is the one dedicated to the art of jewellery making in the XIIth—XIIIth centuries. About 250 rarely seen items, derived from several buried treasures during the archeological excavations and scientific researches in the Moscow Kremlin territory, include precious pieces of jewellery, gems, remarkable cult-objects and domestic utensils of the Old Russian and pre-Mongolian period.

Showcase 2. Pieces of jewellery of the XIth-XIVth centuries

The collection of arms and armour of the XIIth—XVIth centuries present some tragic pages from the history of the Moscow Kremlin — a medieval fortress, which witnessed several incidents of intestine strife and foreign invasion, when people were forced to hide their valuable belongings, and lots of arms, jewellery and money were hidden or buried in the ground.

Showcase 1. Arms and armour of the XIIth-XVIIth centuries

A remarkable collection of ancient Russian and foreign coins, gold and silver bars, grivnas from the last two sections incorporates precious items derived from treasures of the Moscow Tsars and Princes, Russian noblemen, as well as underground storages of the Moscow Kremlin and Russian monasteries. It gives an opportunity to trace the history of the Russian monetary system, the development of various types of money through several historical periods, peculiarities of economic relations and trade of the Moscow state.

Showcase 4. Ingots and coins of the XIth-XVIIth centuriesShowcase 5. Coins from treasure-troves of the XIVth-XVIIth centuries

The opening of the exposition "Treasures and antiquities of the Moscow Kremlin" is an important event for the cultural life of Russia as it presents a new museum on history and precious collections of the Moscow Kremlin — a cultural and historical center of the country.

ЭКСПОЗИЦИЯ «КЛАДЫ И ДРЕВНОСТИ МОСКОВСКОГО КРЕМЛЯ» В ПОДКЛЕТЕ БЛАГОВЕЩЕНСКОГО СОБОРА

Close

Экспозиция «Клады и древности Московского Кремля» в подклете Благовещенского собора.В состав экспозиции «Клады и древности Московского Кремля» включены памятники, непосредственно найденные при археологических раскопках на территории Московского Кремля или связанные с историей существовавших когда-то сокровищниц российских государей, знати, монастырей. Экспозиция является представительной по количеству, исторической и художественной значимости входящих в нее экспонатов ХII – конца  ХVII века. Это период, когда Москва превращается сначала в удельный центр, в XIV веке — в столицу великого княжества, а затем — всего Российского государства. Местом  размещения нового музея является подклет Благовещенского собора, служивший в древности для хранения великокняжеской казны.

Более 1500 экспонатов,  полно и многогранно отображающих состав кремлевских сокровищниц и спрятанных когда-то в Кремле кладов, демонстрируют высокий социальный статус, экономические возможности и обширные торговые связи их бывших владельцев. Среди  памятников — предметы ювелирного искусства, оружие и воинское снаряжение, денежные слитки, золотые и серебряные монеты.

Экспозиция построена по тематическим разделам. Одним из наиболее ценных является раздел, посвященный памятникам ювелирного искусства XII–XIII веков. Около 250 экспонатов составляют редчайшую группу предметов, найденных в ходе археологических раскопок и в составе кладов на территории Кремля. Среди них серебряные ювелирные украшения,  культовые и редчайшие бытовые предметы византийского и русского домонгольского искусства.

Витрина 2. Предметы ювелирного искусства XI-XIV вв.

В экспозиции представлено оружие и воинское снаряжение XII–XVI вв. Эти памятники  рассказывают о  значении Кремля как средневековой крепости, а также  раскрывают  трагические страницы его истории, когда княжеские усобицы и нашествия врагов заставляли людей прятать в землю наиболее ценные для них вещи:  оружие, драгоценности, денежные слитки и монеты.

Витрина 1. Оружие и воинское снаряжение XII-XVII вв.

Раздел, посвященный денежным слиткам и монетам XI–XVII веков, включает редкие памятники нумизматики: денежные слитки-гривны, золотые и серебряные российские и иностранные монеты, которые в старину хранились в Московском Кремле в сокровищницах великих князей и царей, знати, монастырей, а также в подземных хранилищах Кремлёвских приказов, Казённого и Денежного дворов. Экспонаты дают посетителю яркое представление о составе кремлёвских сокровищниц, об облике денег в разные исторические периоды, об особом значении некоторых типов монет и обширных торговых связях Москвы.

Витрина 4. Денежные слитки и монеты XI-XVII вв.

Завершает экспозицию раздел «Клады монет XIV–XVII веков». Памятники этого раздела рассказывают о некоторых подлинных кладах старинных монет и платежных слитков, которые были найдены на территории Московского Кремля.

Витрина 5. Клады монет XIV - XVII вв.

Экспозиция «Клады и древности Московского Кремля» — значительное событие в культурной жизни столицы. Она дает многогранное и яркое представление о Кремле как крепости, центре политической и культурной жизни страны, знакомит посетителя с ценнейшими кремлевскими коллекциями, история которых уходит в глубину веков.

ВВЕРХ