RUSSIAN GOLD COINS FROM THE 17TH CENTURY

Close

Alongside West European coins, the showcase features rare 17th-century Russian gold coins which served as royal grants for military merits, and their appearance and size depended on the nobility of the recipient.    

It was not until the Time of Troubles at the beginning of the 17th century that gold coins were introduced for monetary circulation. In 1610, due to the lack of silver in the treasury and the need to pay salaries to Swedish mercenaries, gold kopecks were put into circulation – ten and five kopecks respectively. The Poles, who occupied Moscow in 1610, began issuing silver and gold coins on behalf of the Polish Prince Wladyslaw IV (1610-1612), who was proclaimed the Russian Tsar.

Among Russian gold coins of the 17th century, there are a series of granted gold coins in the weight of one Hungarian and half Hungarian Ducat of different size and weight with the portraits of tsars Ivan and Peter Alekseyevich on the front side and with the portrait of Tsarevna Sophia Alekseyevna on the reverse. They were made as awards for participants of the Crimean campaign in 1687. Stylistic differences of stamps for gold of lesser "merits" indicate the work of several masters.      

Gold kopeckGold coin in the weight of ¼ Hungarian DucatGold coin in the weight of ¼ Hungarian DucatGold coin in the weight of a Hungarian DucatGold coin in the weight of a Hungarian DucatGold coin in the weight of half Hungarian DucatGold сoin in the weight of half Hungarian Ducat (reverse)

Skilful carvers were to be employed for the work on the stamps, and talented goldsmiths were needed for the production of large compound medallions. Only the Gold and Silver Chambers of the Moscow Kremlin could provide the required professionals. One of the stamps is marked with miniature letters "C-I", possibly the initials of Iona Semidel, a master of the Golden Chamber.

РУССКИЕ ЗОЛОТЫЕ МОНЕТЫ XVII ВЕКА

Close

Наряду с западноевропейскими, в витрине показаны редкие русские золотые монеты XVII в., которые служили в качестве царских пожалований за военные заслуги, а их внешний вид и размер зависел от знатности награждаемого.     

Лишь в Смутное время в начале XVII в. были выпущены золотые монеты для денежного обращения. В 1610 г. в связи с нехваткой серебра в казне и необходимостью выплаты жалованья шведским наёмникам, в обращение были выпущены золотые копейки деньги, соответственно по цене в десять и пять копеек. Поляки, захватившие Москву в 1610 г., начали выпуск серебряных и золотых монет от имени провозглашенного русским царём польского королевича Владислава Жигимонтовича (1610–1612).

Среди русских золотых монет XVII в. представлены жалованные золотые весом в один «угорский» и половину «угорского» из целой серии монет разного размера и веса с портретами царей Ивана и Петра Алексеевичей на лицевой стороне и с портретом царевны Софьи Алексеевны на оборотной. Изготовлены они были для пожалований участников Крымского похода 1687 г. Стилистические отличия штемпелей для золотых меньших «достоинств» указывают на работу нескольких мастеров.      

Золотая копейка, 1610 г.Золотой в четверть угорского, 1654 г.Золотой в четверть угорского, 1654 г.Золотой угорскийЗолотой угорскийЗолотой в пол-угорскогоЗолотой в пол-угорского (оборотная сторона)

Для работы над штемпелями нужно было привлечь умелых резчиков, а для изготовления крупных составных медальонов — талантливых мастеров золотого дела. Нужных специалистов могли дать только Золотая и Серебряная мастерские палаты Московского Кремля. Один из штемпелей помечен миниатюрными буквами «С-I», возможно являющиеся инициалами Ионы Семидела, жалованного мастера Золотой палаты.

ВВЕРХ